fiarra: ([fruits basket] kisa. here i am)
Carolina ([personal profile] fiarra) wrote2006-08-29 10:16 pm

beginning of the end

Well... As of now I've been to all of my classes once. And my senior year has officially begun.

Monday.. well.. sucked. I had inorganic chem first at 9am. The prof seems really cool and enthusiastic. Chem isn't that great, but I think I can make it bearable. I have to anyway if I want that Chem minor. And I sure as hell do.. I didnt suffer a year of organic chem for nothing!! Right after I had Algae Bio from 10-10:50. It seemed pretty good. Lots of intro stuff. Apparently there are only 3 people in the grad section, one of who is me... who isn't a grad student. I just have to give a 20 min presentation at the end of the semester. Bleh. I then got to run to ResNet for work from 11-2. I stopped at the SU for food... got confused by the new food court... bought a coke and left. Work was... ok. Lots of answering phones and such. Then I ran back across campus for lab at 2 till 5. It kinda sucked... We looked at algae under microscopes. Sadly... it all looks mostly the same color since.. y'know.. I'm colorblind. It's very cruel to ask a colorblind person what shade of GREEN OR BROWN OR RED something that's tiny in a microscope is... *wibble* Conclusion: I was very hungry and need to being real food to work. Lab is going to suxor.

Today was... ok I guess. My 9:30 english with Pickering (Deat Poet's Society inspiration!) was AMAZING. The man is freaking insane and I love it. So many random tangents, rants, insights into his totally warped mind. It promises to VERY entertaining. Let's just say.. he talked for 10 minutes about the survey of wafflehouses he did and the service he received at each. Also ranting about CIA plots and school ruining the youth of America. Physics was significantly less stellar. The prof seems really nice. The thing is, he talks with a stutter and really quietly. He also isn't very good at explaining things. I ended up falling asleep halfway through it. He was talking about significant figures and conversion factors. I can do that shit in my sleep! So i did... in class. From there it was across the hall to vertebrate bio where I was very much interested. I *heart* my EEB classes and this one promises to be interesting. I've had the prof before and like her style.

Then, again sans lunch, I stood in line for 2 hours to get tix for the Lewis Black show. Front row mezzanine. Kickass. And then, at 4pm I finally got some food in me. I really need to start eating a bigger breakfast....

So yeah.. I'm totally not in school mode yet, but I really need to be. In a little over 3 weeks I need to be ready for the GRE. I need to finalize my grad school list. I need to get letters of recommendation. Gah!

Anyway... yeah. Senior year. *sweatdrop*

[identity profile] thedreademperor.livejournal.com 2006-08-30 02:40 am (UTC)(link)
You can do it lina! gambarre gambarre!

[identity profile] thedreademperor.livejournal.com 2006-08-30 02:41 am (UTC)(link)
also, that subject is so sad : (. Its not an end Lina.

[identity profile] cowbert.livejournal.com 2006-08-30 04:09 am (UTC)(link)
hey if you had switched to MCB, you could have put the organic chem to good use as a required course :)

heh just as I dissassociate myself from uconn, they open the new food court. I waited 3 years for freaking Panda Express!!!

who was your physics prof? Phil Best speaks slowly and softly but he has the australian accent that makes you pay attention because it is just so rad.

[identity profile] starsparkle333.livejournal.com 2006-09-03 04:31 am (UTC)(link)
hehe i like EEB too much to switch.

the bad part about the new food court is that it's so EXPENSIVE. it's kinda sad.

And I have phil best... he seems pretty nice although very soft spoken. he has a stutter as well which makes it difficult to follow his explanations